Governance of the Trust

The Governance Structure of the Trust is:

Governance Structure

The Members of the Trust are responsble for the constituion of the Trust and are largely made up of local people who are either on a local governing body or currently have students attending one of our Academies.

Members of the Trust

Steve Hopkins - 34 years’ experience in financial services, Chartered Financial Planner and Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute. Director of Firth and Scott since 1984, governor at The Redhill Academy for 15 years, becoming Chair in 2006.

Barry Bexton – Recently retired. Previously worked as a Legal Executive, both in private practice and industry, for some 27 years. Also worked as an Assistant Personnel and Training Officer for Severn Trent Water and latterly as a Local Tax Inspector for Gedling Borough Council. Currently Chair of Governors at Robert Mellors Primary School. Served as a school governor for 9 years at a local primary as well as at Redhill.

Michael Booth – director of an educational charity trust. Self-employed wine merchant.

Julian Bond – Chartered Manager, Chartered Engineer and a Chartered IT Professional. Member of the Institute of Risk Management. Head of ICT at a national business, Hillarys Blinds and the Finance Director of a local charity. Julian is an Associate Lecturer with The Open University. His professional expertise lies in business, general management, IT, project management and risk management.

Barry Daley – retired businessman, was previously director of his own firm.

Deborah Haynes – Learning and Development Facilitator at a professional trade union.  Experienced in adult learning and trade union activities with good knowledge of employment law.

Steve Mathers – retired police officer (CID). Chair of Governors at The Carlton Academy. Experienced Foster Carer.

Michael Payne – Deputy Leader of Gedling Borough Council. Trainee barrister. Ex President of Lancaster University Student Union. Ex Head Boy at The Redhill Academy (2004 – 2005)

Steve Shaw – Retired Maths Teacher whose role also included Head of Careers, Work Experience Coordinator and Head of Year at George Spencer School. Former Chair of Governors at Redhill School for 18 years. 
Clare Harrison - Information to follow soon...
Fiona Gray - Information to follow soon...
Cath Hawker - Information to follow soon...

Declaration of business interests of Members